Update on Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Higher Ed

Leave a comment

August 16, 2013 by Nils

Howdy folks in Internet-Land!

(I’m terribly sorry, that was way too chipper for my usual greeting.  But it’s 12:12 AM right now, and I’m punchy.)

You may have noticed, with sadness and longing, that I am no longer on the radio in Richmond.  I know, I miss it, too.  In the intervening three months, I have relocated myself to Ithaca, New York, for grad school at Cornell.  Since I have never been a graduate student before, I have no idea as to what sort of workload I have ahead of me–classes start in a little over a week and a half, so I am in the process of trying to figure out what it is I have to do, and whether or not a radio broadcast will be part of the imminent future.  So hang tight–I’m just as bewildered and scared as you are.

Look out! The future’s behind you!

So, dramatic prairie dogs aside, I will keep you posted about future happenings.  Among other things, I need to make a demo-reel for any radio station that might take me.  Luckily, Ithaca has a good folk scene (it’s where my hero, Bruce Molsky, got his start–he was at Cornell doing a degree in engineering and learned from the great Walt Koken), so we’ll see if I can’t get something figured out here soon.

Meanwhile, enjoy this beautiful picture of Ithaca Falls (new name fodder?)

I took this the other day.  The landscape is really gorgeous here.  DO NOT TAKE THAT AS A PUN.

I took this the other day. The landscape is really gorgeous here. DO NOT TAKE THAT AS A PUN.

Leave a Reply

Artist of the Week

Le Charbonniers de l'Enfer & La Nef

Enter your email address to follow this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

THE END OF AN ERA.

Our Final Broadcast on WDCE 90.1 wasMay 11th, 2013
We are working to get back on the air somewhere, anywhere. Just so long as you can hear us.

Postings

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
